Evening and Morning

“And God called the light day, and the darkness He called night, and the evening and the morning were the first day.” Genesis 1:5

Every culture I am aware of begins each new day at midnight except one. Israel and the Hebrew nation have the unique distinction of beginning the each new day at sundown. Have you considered the ramifications of that in a spiritual context? That means that each new day begins at dusk and grows darker and darker as the hours pass. By the time the sun rises the day is already half over!

So often folks like us (those who love Jesus) find ourselves in times of darkness and, in some situations, the darkness seems more and more dark. However if we will relax and realize that we are entering a new day which is always introduced by the going down of the sun with the light (understanding) of the previous day perhaps it will help us understand the process and not be afraid of the dark. Because of a trauma in my life as a child I grew up with a fear of the dark. In my childlike innocence I somehow believed there was something there, lurking in the dark, that I could not see and, therefore. to be feared. I was well into my adult years before I faced my fear and discovered it was all a lie. The darkness holds no threat to me.

Likewise, in our walk with God there will be times that the sun seems to have gone down on our path and we only see darkness. That’s normal. You are entering a new day. Eventually light will break on the horizon and you will begin to see clearly once again.

I was recently on an overnight flight heading towards a predetermined destination. As I looked out the small window of the aircraft there was darkness everywhere. It was as we say in English, “pitch black”. I could see nothing. However, I knew the destination and I knew that the pilot had his navigation system in place and even though I could not see through the darkness I knew the dawn would come and I would arrive at my destination safely. At a certain moment after hours in the air I could see a faint glow on the horizon. It was very faint at first glance but right before my eyes I watched the most glorious sun rise! It was magnificent!

What is important, and using the Bible as our reference, by the time I saw the light of day, the day was already half over and I had made steady progress toward my destination.

My friend, there is a pilot safely speeding you along toward your destination. His name is Jesus. His navigation system is perfect and He will bring you safely to your destination which is your destiny and calling. You have nothing to fear. Just remain seated with your seatbelt fastened. You may not be seeing the horizon just yet but it’s not far off. The window of your vision may be small as mine was but nothing can prevent the light of dawn.

I leave you with the words of the prophet, “Watchman, watchman, what of the night? The watchman said, THE MORNING COMES.”

Love you guys. Hang in there.

D.D.

3 Responses to “Evening and Morning”

  1. Hey Dan,
    I have watched out of a window and all I saw was a “pitch black” darkness, but then, suddenly I saw a light shinning in the dark, that was Jesus bringing His light into my dark night. Thank you for the Word of the Lord. Rita

  2. André Casimiro Says:

    Well, now I know why everything seemed darker and darker lately. It’s just a new day… I’ll hold for the light!

    Thank you so much!

  3. Hi Dan, thanks for such comforting words. In my life, it’s been during the darkest times that I feel GOD the closest. Please, keep posting!

Leave a Reply

