America in Crisis

For many years my letters were appeal letters giving testimonies of my travels and what was being accomplished. I reported the miracles and the souls that were saved. Virtually each of you reading this letter will remember those days and those letters. Little has changed in my ministry over the years. I still travel frequently, miracles continue to happen, and souls continue to be saved as much if not more than ever. And I still depend on the support of the body of Christ as I always have.

However, some months ago my heart was stirred to change the focus of my monthly letters from writing about what I’m doing to writing about matters that may directly affect you in your walk with The Lord Jesus. I want to give something back and invest in your life as you have done in mine. Some of even you look to me for varying levels of leadership and to that I must be faithful. Last month I wrote about the birthright and the church of the firstborn. The response was good and I appreciate it.
This month I want to share with you about my concern with the direction our nation is going. Though this may not appear to be particularly “spiritual” I humbly ask you to read, ponder, and consider what I have to say.
To be clear and as direct as I can be, America cannot sustain its present course. We are a nation in deep trouble particularly morally and financially!
Perhaps some Christian leaders can see these things and remain silent. I can’t! I see the deplorable moral decline, the blatant political corruption, the misinformation and secret negotiations coming out of the White House. I see a failing economy fostered by unsustainable debt and the endless printing of paper money whereby each new dollar bill coming off the press is worth less than the previous one!
The well-known news reporter, Bill O’Reilly, recently asked during his internationally televised program, “Where are the priest’s and the preachers today? Why aren’t they speaking out?” I believe some are and I commend them for doing so. As a preacher myself I serve as a watchman on the wall responsible to fix my gaze on the horizon, see what is approaching in the distance, and sound the appropriate trumpet call. From my place on the wall what I see coming is not friendly! This is my trumpet call!
Do I believe Jesus will take care of His people in any situation? Yes I do. I also believe Jesus has sent the Holy Spirit to lead us into all truth and show us things to come.
Consider for a moment this verse of Scripture…
“A prudent man foresees the evil and hides himself; but the simple {Lit.
Seducible} pass on and are punished {Lit. inflict a penalty}” Proverbs 27:12
That is to me a sobering verse of Scripture that pierces my heart like an arrow!

Sometimes people of faith, like us, can be a bit simple and naïve. Sometimes we are even the blind being led by the blind. Those are strong words I know and I’m being cautious so as not to offend but I do want to appeal to your good sense.
There are those predicting God’s judgment on America. I’m not one of them. What I’m warning you about is the results of ungodly and greedy men, including many bankers and politicians, who know how to manipulate the financial system and become enormously wealthy at the expense of decent hard working people. I don’t necessarily see that as the judgment of God. Something can be human or satanic in origin without being a direct act of God’s Judgment. If God is judging America then so be it we accept His righteous judgment. If on the other hand what we see is man’s doing we can deal with that. That’s the position I’m taking. During the height of The Great Depression the unemployment never rose above twenty-five percent. While it’s true millions suffered, it’s equally true millions more got along just fine and even prospered. The bottom line is some were prepared while others were not.
I’m not predicting another great depression but I see a continuing recession, a falling dollar, and a possible deflation of the U.S. currency. According to various sources the IMF is now planning its move to replace the U.S. Dollar as the number one reserve currency in the world. You may not know what that means but I assure you if that happens the life style of every U.S. citizen will change dramatically. The incessant printing of paper money to pay only the interest on borrowed money is clearly a one-way street leading to disaster. Can anyone borrow money on one credit card to pay the interest on another without touching the principle amount borrowed? Yes, but not indefinitely. Eventually the day of reckoning comes. America is not there yet but it’s inevitable and it’s not going to be pretty!
Up to now I’m addressing the financial aspect of the crisis. Much could be said about the moral decay. Perhaps you’ve heard of the man, the Olympic gold medalist, who is now a woman. He/she is in the media most every day and almost risen to hero status for “coming out”! Barack Obama refused to call the widow of a fallen hero, the American sniper, Chris Kyle, to give condolences after his senseless murder, but he took time to call a professional football player to congratulate him for “coming out” as a homosexual! That is sick my friend! The President is also the man who declared, “America can no longer be called a Christian nation”! What happens in the White House, the Supreme Court, and Wall Street affects each of us directly. There is no avoiding it. And believe it or not what happens in those three locations directly affects the moral climate of Amearica.
Even now the Supreme Court is considering same-sex marriage. Abortion on demand is so entrenched in our culture that it’s taken for granted. The looming financial crisis has been years in the making but it will certainly reach the tipping point until “suddenly” something happens. Millions will be caught completely off guard.
Consider this. Our Blessed Heavenly Father, on His way to Sodom, stopped by Abraham’s tent to reveal His plan to destroy the city. During that visit, and in His mercy, He engaged in a negotiation with Abraham to spare the city! “If there are ten righteous I will spare the city.” God would have preferred to spare the city if He could righteously do so. He also went so far as sending two messengers to warn Lot to get his family out. If the situation in America has passed the point of no return God will at least warn His people to “get out” which could be the same as “be prepared”. If one knows where to listen he will hear creditable people issuing clear warnings and offering clear suggestions of how to weather the coming storm. Remember, The Holy Spirit is sent to show us things to come and, by implication, have us prepared.
God is inviting the “prudent” of today to prepare for His next move. Oh yes, a move of God is underway. Greedy men are planning their move, foreign governments are planning their move, and God is planning His. Consider again…
“Darkness will cover the earth, and thick darkness the people: but The Lord shall
arise upon you, and his Glory shall be seen upon you.” Isaiah 60:2
Who can perdict what form the darkness will take? It may be all inclusive, financial, moral, war, famine, civil unrest, terrorism, or a dozen other things. But for sure many will know it’s coming and are prepared to stand as a light in the world.
There are many resources available to those desiring to educate themselves on current events, well-founded predictions, and reasonable preparations. The great thing about preparation is you cannot lose. If the crisis you prepare for never comes you’ve lost nothing. If the crisis comes, you have made yourself ready. It’s like saving for a rainy day. If the day never comes, you’ve lost nothing by being prepared.
I’m heeding my own counsel and making a few preparations to be ready for an uncertain future should it come. A major crisis could occur without warning, it could be an Internet security breach like the one that just happened. The Banking system is extremely vulnerable to such an attack. I recommend you keep a reasonable amount of cash on hand in case your bank is shut down for a week or two. The stock market is a prime target to shutdown our national economy. The utility grids that send electric power to our homes are always the subjects of cyber warfare. What will you do if you have no electricity in your home or office? One terrorist attack can shut down every airport in America. It’s happened before. The supply of fresh water could be disrupted or contaminated. If you stop and take a moment to think about it we are a very venerable people. There is no need to panic or fear, just take some reasonable precautions. You who live in Florida know what it’s like when a hurricane warning is issued. People run to the merchants and buy every roll of toilet paper in the place! Why not buy some now and store it away? It is very unlikely Florida will never experience another hurricane and it’s equally unlikely the U.S. can continue it’s present course without serious consequences. Be prepared!
I hope you know me well enough to I’m not “going off the deep end”. I’m not predicting doom and gloom. I’m appealing you, my Christian friends, to not be caught unaware. I’m not saying the sky will fall tomorrow. I’m not saying a catastrophe will occur tomorrow. However, I want to be clear in saying the present course America is pursuing cannot be sustained, the course can, and hopefully will be changed, by a new admiration, but the present course cannot continue without dire consequences.
For me to write a traditional appeal letter is simple compared to a letter such as this. I have pondered every word. I’ve laid awake at night debating whether or not to bring these thoughts to you. Finally at the end of the day I came to the conclusion I cannot be silent. I’m indebted to you. The words written here are not intended to be prophetic. The conclusions I’ve come to are based totally on natural reasoning and common sense. Can God intervene? Of course He can. Will He? I don’t know. I hope so. But we who know the ministry of the Holy Spirit should be prepared for whatever comes?
So here it is my friend. I’ve laid it out as clearly and briefly as I’m capable of doing. Please consider what I’m saying. I want more than anything to see my family and friends stand in a difficult or evil day. I want to be prepared for the next “hurricane” when it comes.

Your comments and concerns are equally welcomed.

Dan Duke
Our ministry is supported by the generous gifts of those who share our passion for Jesus.

2 Responses to “America in Crisis”

  1. Wagner Longhi Says:

    Hello Dan, I understand your concern and vision in wanting to share what you are feeling.I want you to know that I respect your view and I will always respect. So I pray that much there in America as here in Brazil the course of this pernicious sitema can change and we, the igeja, have time and passion to share the salvation in Christ and at the same time develop our fellowship with the Father in worship and life of holiness.God bless the America and Brazil, God bless the hungry and thirsty for more of His presence. amenGet our love.

    Pr. Wagner LonghiIgreja Monte GileadeNova Odessa-sp

    Date: Mon, 15 Jun 2015 16:32:25 +0000 To: wlonghi@hotmail.com

  2. Dan, Thanks for the prudent advice. I hope all readers will heed and take appropriate actions regarding said advice. I hope they take not only appropriate physical preparations, but also even more important are the spiritual preparations, which will help us, and help us to help others.

    Matthew 5:14-16New Living Translation (NLT)

    14 “You are the light of the world—like a city on a hilltop that cannot be hidden.15 No one lights a lamp and then puts it under a basket. Instead, a lamp is placed on a stand, where it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your good deeds shine out for all to see, so that everyone will praise your heavenly Father.”

    (The darker the atmosphere, the brighter a light appears.)

    Vitally Important: Getting/Staying close to the heart of our Heavenly Father. Listening to and obeying Holy Spirit within us.

    2 Corinthians 1:3-5New Living Translation (NLT)
    “3 All praise to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. God is our merciful Father and the source of all comfort. 4 He comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort others. When they are troubled, we will be able to give them the same comfort God has given us. 5 For the more we suffer for Christ, the more God will shower us with his comfort through Christ.”

    As for Proverbs 27:12, [& Proverbs 22:3], I prefer the NLT version, to wit, “A prudent person foresees danger and takes precautions. The simpleton goes blindly on and suffers the consequences.”

    I pray God blesses you and your family far beyond your hopes, dreams, and desires!

    JESUS CHRIST IS LORD, regardless of the apparent circumstances.

Leave a Reply

